DEV Community

webdevtop
webdevtop

Posted on • Updated on

How to start building career?

Hi everyone , This is my first post in this website ( I liked it so much ) .
First, I'm in my last year of engineering degree in CS( 5/6 years in university),
I studied many things in computer science from C/C++ to VB.net/C#, Java/J2EE, Matlab, Photoshop, Illustrator, Flash/3ds max,PHP,HTML,CSS,JS and more ( wow ! ).
Each year i study a different thing so i hesitate between the path i should take i feel like i love everything i study but from the beginning i love so much web development. During this years i created many projects but all of them are academic so i don't care too much for code quality or UI/UX so i didn't showed it in my portfolio , neither upload source code to github , I don't wont to share something ugly even if it is functional.
I will graduate after 1 year so i must start thinking of my career (Thinking now -lol- ) . I don't say that i'm not good in development ( software or web) , No ! I can build awesome stuffs if I take the time needed :D
So now , I want to start to rearrange thinks , I'm focusing on the field I liked : Front End development with some Back-end development ( Full stack oh !) .
I studied Angular and i really enjoyed it and the community using it , I have already good knowledge in PHP with MySql, but I think of the MEAN stack instead .

I have some questions :
I will soon upload my source codes ( after code reviews :D ) , what is the best place to host the front end (Angular) and the back-end (PHP && J2EE) the projects will be seen by normal people not necessary developers . Do I need to upload only complete projects worked or i can add examples of functionality .
As i have worked in some projects i can share informations , It's better to create my own blog or share it in websites like dev.to or medium ?

I want to get advices for a fresh person who will graduate in a year .
Thank you . I appreciate every comment :)

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

My advice depends on your level of risk taking. If you are risk adverse (like myself), then as you enter the job market I recommend you look for a position that interests you. Be selective. And in the interview process, be very forthcoming with what you know and don't know. (If you don't know something, and feign that you do, it will be a big red flag against you.)

If you are a risk taker (like a friend of mine), and are willing to work hard to build your own company, then have a vision, have determination, and make it happen. My friend is retired now, and set for life -- I'll be (happily!) working for many more years. But I'll never have 3 houses, multiple fancy cars, my own jet, and retired at a young enough age to enjoy the fruits of my labor.

Collapse
 
webdevtop1 profile image
webdevtop

No advices ? :o