DEV Community

Cover image for A tip for installing Tensorflow on my M1 Macbook Pro with fish shell.
Yasuhiro Nagata
Yasuhiro Nagata

Posted on • Updated on

A tip for installing Tensorflow on my M1 Macbook Pro with fish shell.

I wrote about How I installed Tensorflow on my M1 Macbook Pro with fish shell.

EDIT: If you use version control libraries like pyenv, you should install miniforge3 by using them

and no need to read this article.
This instead is helpful😎

Here’s the official reference to follow.

Tensorflow Plugin - Metal - Apple Developer
But, I couldn’t call conda , when installing the TensorFlow dependencies.

I know that conda locates /Users/yas/miniforge3/bin , so I call its init command for fish shell.

conda init fish
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Then I got the three lines of codes in /Users/yas/.config/fish/config.fish

# >>> conda initialize >>>
# !! Contents within this block are managed by 'conda init' !!
eval /Users/yas/miniforge3/bin/conda "shell.fish" "hook" $argv | source
# <<< conda initialize <<<
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

After restarting the shell, I could call conda from anywhere and completed the installation.😌

Top comments (0)