DEV Community

Yoav Anaki
Yoav Anaki

Posted on

Time tracker recommendations?

Hey fellas,

Brand new here! Super happy to join!

I'm a consultant doing mainly web development work. I bill by the hour. 'till now, I've used a spreadsheet to track the time I spent working, but I'm sure there's a better way. What do you guys use to track your time, both for billing and for growth purposes? (i.e. I'd like to know how much time I spend coding, researching, planning etc.)

Thanks so much!
Yoav

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
asizikov profile image
Anton Sizikov

I use toggl.com
It's simple, easy to use, supports different projects and gives you an option to download a CSV file with all your time entries.

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

+1 for Toggl, my favorite too

Collapse
 
kafnod profile image
Joel

Timing app for Mac works great for automatic time tracking. You just need to take some time and configure it well by creating your projects and you're good to go.

Check it out: timingapp.com

Collapse
 
betsynelson profile image
Betsy Nelson

If you are using Azure DevOps, you have to try 7pace Timetracker. 100%.
marketplace.visualstudio.com/items...