DEV Community

zainwah24
zainwah24

Posted on

Do I need to remember all the 300+ CSS Properties?

First of all, I would like to share why I picked this topic.

When I started learning web development languages such as HTML, CSS, naturally I always needed a constraint satisfaction to learn it. I think everyone wants to get this satisfaction.

I mean we always want to know the boundaries of learning so that we can start from the start and end at the end. And then we know how much we have learned and how much does it remain to learn.

We take the example of CSS to understand. I wanted to know how many properties exist to learn and how many aspects are of the single CSS property.

Then I found there are more than 500 properties. But modern browsers don't support all the properties. And I found that some properties are partially supported by the browsers.

Now, a developer would like to get the following things at one place without wasting time.

  1. All properties
  2. Description of what a property does?
  3. Syntax of that property
  4. All possible values of this property with a description and practical implementation
  5. Default value
  6. Applicability
  7. Compatibility because not all browsers support every property
  8. The practice of each possible value of the property
  9. The practice panel

And this was irritating for me to find all these things in different places or even google it. On top of that do I need to remember all of them when I come back to the usage of these properties after a long time.

Now how did I solve this problem?

I summed up more than 300 CSS properties in a single page. You can filter each one. Each property is pointing to a single page that has covered up all the above-given points.

Now if have a little idea about a property (i.e. only unambiguous name), you can filter it from our index. And you can dig into it. See a sample page of the border property.

I think we always follow this approach to learn some new technology provided no one forces us to learn it as in the university with some boring conventional studies.

Top comments (0)