DEV Community

AaronLobitana
AaronLobitana

Posted on

IST 256: Project 2 Progress Report

This weeks work was focused on the CSS and HTML parts to replicate the badges website we were tasked with replicating. There was a lot of CSS and HTML work to make sure that the page was ready for cards to be displayed. While I worked on this, Rob has been working to finish the card template. Hopefully soon, I'll be able to test my search function to see what needs to be changed or fixed.

I'm still not really sure how I am going to handle the search and rendering portions of this project. However, I do have a filter that is returning arrays, so I think thats in a pretty decent spot. I just have to figure out how to save the search bar input, and then send that over to my search/filter function and I'll go from there.
Badge Card Plan

The diagram I have is my best idea so far. I think it should work but I'm hoping to do a lot of testing soon to iron things out from here. I think that we have some good parts here that we just need to put together in a way that'll accomplish our goals. Thats the biggest challenge for me right now.

I'd imagine that a microscale architecture like ours with help greatly with scalability. Rather than having this massive application with massive parts, you can split it up to make it easier to plan and implement. I'd imagine updating and revising the smaller parts would be much easier than editing one massive application.

The main thing I'm struggling with is how to connect my three components together. I've got my filter function in two different components right now because I'm not sure where to best put it. I'm working on taking user input and then send it to my function. How would that work? I'm not sure how I can transfer a variable from one component to the other. The other big problem I have is that even though my function returns the proper arrays, I'm not sure how to build the card using that information. That entire bit is very fuzzy to me and I'm not even really sure how to begin tackling that one.

Top comments (0)