DEV Community

Adam Crockett 🌀
Adam Crockett 🌀

Posted on

CV / Resume - Is this okay?

I have entered a sort of career identity crisis period in my life - I have lived and breathed UI development for years, I love where I work, so I am applying for an internal role but this will be a role going out to clients.

Can anyone take a look at 2.1 pages of CV and tell me if what I have written is enough to catch your eye.

I know the reality of the situation, a CV is not meant to tell you what I do, its meant to tick boxes, grab your attention and say yes I will have you in for interview.

Whats been changed? This years role has been added.

Linky:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1SaMlxoeerzgyO2h70xddOaGmPWoTy4lB/view?usp=sharing

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
emma profile image
Emma Goto 🍙 • Edited

I would probably fix up the formatting a little bit, e.g. this was all one line:

Client: Bath and North East Somerset Council Nov 2013 — Feb 2016 Projects:Headless Drupal Smart TV kiosks, Drupal Intranet.

Also I was a bit confused by this:

My last project with B&NES Council before closing my business was

Since this is the first time you mention having a business so I feel like it's lacking a bit of context.

(I'm not a recruiter so take this with a grain of salt, but I think the descriptions could probably also be condensed a little bit too. I think you can get it down to 2 pages).

Collapse
 
gytiso profile image
Gytis Ožiūnas

IMHO your résumé should fit in one page.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

I got the job with 3 pages 😎

Collapse
 
gwsounddsg profile image
GW

I've actually given workshops on building resumes and cv's. I'd be happy to talk you through my thoughts, DM if you'd like.

Collapse
 
094459 profile image
Ricardo Sueiras

Happy to talk to you about this. DM me and let’s chat.

Collapse
 
tomnyson profile image
Le Hong Son

nice