DEV Community

Aaron Gholson
Aaron Gholson

Posted on

Flatiron - Phase 3

Phase 3 at Flatiron is now complete! This phase was relatively relaxed compared to the previous ones, even though we learned a few new programming languages. Python was the main focus, and after grasping the basics of it, we integrated SQL into our learning. Personally, I found Python relatively easy to pick up, but things got a bit confusing for me when SQL was introduced.

Let's break down SQLite for those who might not be familiar with it. In the expansive world of databases, where heavyweight giants like MySQL and PostgreSQL reign supreme, there's an unsung hero that often goes unnoticed—SQLite. This unassuming database management system (DBMS) may not be a household name, but it's a powerhouse in its own right. Unlike traditional databases that require a separate server process, SQLite is embedded directly into the application that uses it. This unique design makes it an incredibly lightweight and efficient choice for various scenarios. SQLite's versatility extends to a range of applications: mobile apps, desktop apps, web apps, and more. Its simplicity, efficiency, and cross-platform support make it an ideal choice for a wide range of applications.

Our project for phase 3 was to create a CLI application using Python and SQL. This project wasn't too challenging since we had a template to work with, but a majority of the work involved troubleshooting and bug fixing. We encountered problems that required us to do some in-depth research or quick thinking to resolve. One of my biggest challenges was ensuring that the user inputted an integer and not a string, and vice versa. I explored a few ways to address this issue, and in the end, I opted to create functions that I could call to check if the input values were of the correct types. Initially, this solution threw errors and even closed the program, but my partner and I were able to clean up the code and complete the task without any issues.

This phase of Flatiron was not as stressful as the previous ones, although understanding databases posed a personal challenge for me. It's challenging for me to code a program without immediate visual feedback. In React, having the application update in real time was a very helpful feature that I definitely took for granted. However, as we conclude phase 3, I have a solid grasp of SQL and Python, so I'm still very satisfied with the Flatiron course.

Top comments (0)