DEV Community

Cover image for Burning Flask Tutorial
Antonov Mike
Antonov Mike

Posted on

Burning Flask Tutorial

Completed all the Flask tasks from their official website and here is straight up no satisfaction at all. Looks like I burned out before I even got the job. Two years of pointless studying of Rust clearly took a toll on me. I wonder why I can still do stuff.
I don't know how to do frontend, so it doesn't look nice. But I don't like frontend either. To me, the more backend the better.
Without feedback on the work done, I don't know how well I did, because I don't know the market requirements.

Coons at work

Image created by Bing

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
dlblv profile image
Seraphim • Edited

AFAIK, it's not Rust burning you out, it's the common uncertainty & unawareness re. all the technologies & building blocks around. Programming language is just one of the tools. Though yes, language is a big thing and it locks you within its ecosystem, paradigms, etc, but still it's just a cement between the bricks, such as: databases, APIs, frameworks and other libraries. A knowledge about building out of these bricks makes you a programmer, not just learning the language. Moreover, language is a interchangeable part through your career. Then, when you get familiar with these building blocks and able to scaffold some small walls, architectural skills come front. You have to learn how to use algorithms, data structures, design patterns, systems design & other specific software development topics. So, finally, you'll be able to build skyscrapers and other state of art constructions, and now you're the programmer.

Though language is not the only component of the job, it's pretty crucial, cause it's the key to studying all the surrounding technologies. And better it be simple enough to not be the breaking point of all the learning process. That's why I'd not recommend Rust for beginners, however the language and its ecosystem are great.

Collapse
 
antonov_mike profile image
Antonov Mike

Such a good speech. I wish those words had been spoken two years earlier, it might have saved two years of my life

Collapse
 
slobodan4nista profile image
Slobi

Link is gh 404

Collapse
 
antonov_mike profile image
Antonov Mike

Thank you! My bad! Changed repository visibility to public