DEV Community

Cover image for Summary of results
Antonov Mike
Antonov Mike

Posted on

Summary of results

Completely out of the blue I realized that I've done almost all the tasks from the Flask website. Although I constantly feel like I'm slacking and generally inefficient.

  • ✅ A detail view to show a single post. Click a post’s title to go to its page.
  • ✅ Like / unlike a post.
  • ✅ Comments.
  • ✅ Tags. Clicking a tag shows all the posts with that tag.
  • ✅ A search box that filters the index page by name.
  • ✅ Paged display. Only show 5 posts per page.
  • ✅ Upload an image to go along with a post.
  • ➡️ Format posts using Markdown.
  • ➡️ An RSS feed of new posts.

Unfortunately due to being depressed due to failures in finding job as a Rust junior developer I write like a robot. (Let’s be honest: Junior jobs on Rust have not been, are not, and it is better to think they won't be) It's not a very pleasant state to be in. In addition, the excessive formalization of work leads to a poor understanding of what exactly I'm doing. But that's a matter of exhaustion and lack of emotions. It's can be solved by simply getting a paycheck and finally being able to afford shawarma. Because two years of doing something that has no use and seeing your money run out will make anyone depressed.

Got to know the coverage library a bit more and it's pretty handy stuff. Especially displaying percentage coverage of modules by tests. The library is called "coverage" for a reason:

coverage run -m pytest
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Unfortunately, I don't always understand how to increase the percentage of coverage by tests.

I also liked the database approach. Now that I have to experiment periodically, it's very convenient to be able to simply disable resetting individual tables when resetting the entire database. For example, I have disabled resetting the post and user tables. Although perhaps this is just a temporary convenience. Let's wait and see.

And finally the command:

python freeze requirements.txt
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Sorry, sorry, but the Rust file Cargo.toml is cooler and more convenient. But at least this way.

All in all, since switching from Rust to Python in September 2023 I've been kind of know and can do more, but I'm not one step closer to getting a job, nor do I feel like I've gotten to know and understand anything… So the bottom line is kind of dismal. Of course, I can lie on social networks, trying to put it all in a positive light, and then lie at the job interview to company representatives, who in turn are not quite honest with applicants… isn't that a lot of lies mankind produces? That is the philosophically-socially-pointless note on which I will end this post.

Take care

Image created by Bing [The character costumes don't fit my query, but I don't have the heart to come up with a new query]

Top comments (0)