DEV Community

Cover image for Why Hacktoberfest is an amazing event!
Arnas
Arnas

Posted on

Why Hacktoberfest is an amazing event!

I really fancy the idea of contributing to open source projects. But like every year on the non-October months, I am really great at avoiding sitting down and coding a feature for a lib I love. (wondering if that's just me ¯\(ツ)/¯ ) It's not something that I am proud of, but the GitHub contribution grid is great at confirming it.

contribution grid

Because of that, I am really grateful for the Hacktoberfest event. It's been the third time that it has given me a long needed push to do something for the community. It helped me finally make a pull request for an issue that was months old. Finally, I could create a feature that I could use in my project, feel the thrill of an issue hunt, raise issues that could improve projects. I'm happy that I did it.

And I am happy that I did it.

digital ocean congratulation letter

Big props to DigitalOcean who started it five years ago, and to the many other companies who joined it for the greater good.
You can look into https://devswag.io/ with tag Hacktoberfest for more companies that have joined this year.

P.s It's is my first post, how did I do?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

You did it pretty well for being your first post! good stuff with those hosted images and congrats on making your 5 PR's for Hacktoberfest!