DEV Community

Austin
Austin

Posted on

Phase 2

Phase 2 is in the books...kinda waiting for grades to come in, I should be fine.

React was the focus of our learning. In the the beginning it felt like everything we learn in the first phase got flipped on it's head.

We first learned about components (what even is that?) turns out to be a really cool way to write my JSX (Reacts version of HTML). What started of as a complicated concept turned out to be my favorite part of the phase, writing one set of code for a header or footer and being able to reuse it and avoid retyping the same code over and over is such a time saver.

Functions became easier to write for me as well; i struggled heard last phase to write them, they irked me to know end.

Props was easy for me to get conceptually but not technically. I understood how they worked but for the life of me, passing a prop through components eluded me until recently when my cohort member Kirstyn (Hi Kirstyn, thanks for the help) helped me finish the code challenge that required it.

State was a middle ground area, again i understand how it's suppose to be use and set up but i forget how to apply sometimes.

Effect was fairly simple, we surround a fetch in it to be able to access an external source without causing re-renders or infinite loops.

Forms i will need to continue to work on, getting it on the page is fine but in tandem with with a POST is still a struggle to me. I will however continue to practice React when we move on the phase 3 so i can keep up on the language and add more projects to my portfolio as well.

Overall all I like react a lot and I'm glad to have learned it. Glad to have had Sakib as my instructor, hopefully i can keep the enthusiasm up in Phase 3.

Top comments (0)