DEV Community

ayofar
ayofar

Posted on

Beginner here

Hi, so I'm somewhat of a beginner here in HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. I want to know if anyone has any tips I could keep in mind for my journey. A little bit about my background is that I am pursuing a degree in computer science, but I think the classes are way too challenging for me, and I have failed a few. I really like to code, see the progress I have made, and prefer to go at my own pace, which is why a part of me wants to drop out. Overall, I'm Kinda feeling conflicted about my future; if anyone has any advice, please let me know. Thanks!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
ezpieco profile image
Ezpie

here's what I recommend, try to learn the basics, there's nothing better than the basics, you know why? Because once you mengal into the JS world of frameworks, you would be behind bars of regrets, "Should I use react? Should I use angular? Should I learn vue?" And I know this because this is exactly what I did and now look what I am. A random dude trying to create a trustful social media app that is open-sourced and named Lambda.

So just learn the basics, and since you want HTML, CSS, and JS so much go ahead and try creating a basic template site, that is more of a dummy site that has no functionality, just texts and nice designs, this will teach you how to use HTML and CSS, this should take about 1 - 2 weeks of learning, that's how much it took me. Once these easy things are out, start with JavaScript, and I mean just plain javascript, don't try to learn anything more than javascript, don't focus on framework, library or anything else, just plain javascript code, learn OOP, functional programming, and some basic javascript features, like those which you may see in memes like this one:

Image description

And of course, just plain javascript is all that matters, this should take at least 1 - 2 months. And finally, you can get into the world of JS frameworks and libraries. I would totally and recommend getting used to JQuery, why? Why something that was made decades ago? Well because the frameworks and libraries that you see today did not exist back then, and big tech company's founders had no other option than using JQuery and sticking to it. So learn old things, but not that too old, and don't use ember. Once you know this much you will have a nice chance of getting a job.

Also, I would recommend getting an internship, it helps since it gives you real-world experience, which matters, imagine needing to work with 5 new graduates, could you imagine the pain? Though no offense, that's the truth, get experience and try interviewing in a place you don't want to work, why? So that you get the idea of how companies interview a candidate, this tip is by Primeagen, he's an ex-NETFLEX engineer BTW and he is the best person to get tech advice about jobs.

That's all I can say, and yes, learn the basics, it's a Lego building that needs a proper base.

Collapse
 
kuvindu_damvin profile image
Kuvindu Damvin

Me too a self-learner. I already submitted many this-like posts to several communities on Reddit and servers on Discord. And most of them said is "practice regularly while learning". I think it is the best advice I can give to you. Try following wed dev course of freecodecamp.org which is free and the best.

Collapse
 
ayofar profile image
ayofar

Thanks so much! I appreciate the advice. I'm just going to go one step at a time and possibly switch my major to something else. Thanks again!

Collapse
 
syakirurahman profile image
Muhammad Syakirurohman

Checkout roadmap.sh. they have all tech roadmaps you can follow based on your interest.