DEV Community

Bailey Pardee
Bailey Pardee

Posted on

What if time and money weren't an issue?

What app, website, or technology would you create if time and money weren't a problem?

There are a number of problems in the world that could be solved if the right technology were to be created for them, but I can't say I'd be fully passionate about any of them. In classes, I've had countless professors start by saying "what's an app you could write to solve a problem?" and then you spend the rest of the semester writing a mediocre app that meets their requirements to solve that problem.

If I'm being honest, at this point I'm out of ideas. So often when you start to design an app to solve a problem you find that apps already exist for that problem and you just end up comparing yours to one that people already use instead of making it the way you want it to be.

With that being said, if I had all of the time and money I needed, I would design a video game. A video game may not solve any problems, but it would provide a source of escapism for people, allow for skill development, and connect people around the world through online play. I haven't fully decided what kind of game it would be, but I would lean more towards an action and adventure game that you can play with your friends and updates would allow for more world expansion and customization.

It may not be a life changing solution to a problem, but I think it'd be really interesting to learn how to develop a game. As of now, I'm no where near prepared to create a video game, but I'm always open to learning new things, so maybe someday.

Top comments (0)