DEV Community

Cover image for Meme Monday
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Meme Monday

Meme Monday!

Today's cover image comes from last week's thread.

DEV is an inclusive space! Humor in poor taste will be downvoted by mods.

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

different error

Collapse
 
armgddn profile image
Arma

Image description

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus

Bugs cannot be found. ๐Ÿค“ However, the compiler can point out warnings and errors.

Not even AI can do that yet. ๐Ÿค“๐Ÿ˜†

Collapse
 
michalispapamichael profile image
Michalis Papamichael

The feeling though...

Collapse
 
pxlmastrxd profile image
Pxlmastr

We already know this one is gonna win.

Collapse
 
khairunnisaas profile image
Khairunnisaas

at least i made a new progress

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

Image description

Collapse
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk • Edited

So what is a programmer? I donโ€™t know, Iโ€™m a googl-amer.

Collapse
 
armgddn profile image
Arma

And I'm GP-TAMMER
๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป

Thread Thread
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk

:)

Collapse
 
rasheedmozaffar profile image
Rasheed K Mozaffar

Image description

Bye have a great time ๐Ÿ‘‹

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus

I joined a company as a Dev in 2000. They said the previous dev had left because he was overwhelmed with the C++ code he was writing which used COM to speak to a hardware device.
They told me, he left in a hurry and told everyone "do not contact me".
I was afraid to look at the code.
Then I dug in and I discovered the most beautiful code I'd ever seen.
It was self-explanatory code & I learned new techniques. It was amazing.
I didn't have to do much and I got the code working.
That developer had been on a 1000 mile journey and gave up inches away from success. Still blows my mind.
and even after all these years, I remember that code as some of the best I've ever seen to this day.

Collapse
 
rasheedmozaffar profile image
Rasheed K Mozaffar

I've been writing code for a year and a few months now, I wouldn't say I'm an experienced dev, but I've been a massive advocate for clean code since the beginning, I always make sure to keep things as readable, simple and self explained as humanly possible. so many friends would reach out to me and ask me "what topics should I learn? What advanced things should I be aware of?", I always stress the usefulness of good, clean code, but it seems so many people just don't appreciate it.
I decided to collaborate with an intermediate friend of mine, and I emphasized so much on the importance of highly readable code, cuz most of it was reusable in future projects, and after all that, I got a bunch of messed up code, nonsensical variable names and apparent inconsistencies in naming conventions. Even tho I had spent more time explaining and busting the benefit of all of it , I ended up spending a day and a half refactoring and cleaning most of the code, and even re implementing things again from scratch ๐Ÿ˜ฎโ€๐Ÿ’จ

Collapse
 
thatcomputerguy profile image
Griff Polk

Image description
The first of manyโ€ฆ

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

Image description

Collapse
 
maya_walk profile image
Maya Walker

Image description

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro • Edited

New comiCSS cartoon:

cartoon with three characters whose body is the text 'my body is a very long text that wraps along four or maybe five lines' squeezed together and have stick legs. The first character is on a skateboard, it has the body text well balanced, and is saying 'looking prety...' to the second character. The second character is wearing boots, its body text has two words in the last line, and replies 'looking balanced' to the first character. The last character looks sad/tired, its body text is grayer and the last line only contains an unbalanced one word. It says looking at the other characters 'I hate you two...'

Not as obvious as I'd like it to be. It explores the CSS text-wrap property, and the experimental values balance and pretty... but as pretty is not widely supported, I had to mimic it with a <br> ๐Ÿ˜…

Collapse
 
all_about_meme profile image
Isaac osunbor

Image description

Collapse
 
ranggakd profile image
Retiago Drago

This is really the meme but it is still down, isn't it?