DEV Community

Charanjit Chana
Charanjit Chana

Posted on

Why you should make yourself replaceable

Something for those with aspirations of taking on more leadership or responsibility, your mileage may vary! Every team is different and sometimes the makeup means there is no one who could realistically take over without a push but if you can identify the most suitable and help them, it’s a rewarding situation for everyone to be in.

When I think back to my time in my previous role, there’s a phrase I heard that has stuck with me: "if you can’t be replaced, you can’t be promoted".

I was in a team lead role when I heard this but it wasn’t until a few years later that I wondered what was next? Ultimately I moved on, but how hard would have looked for something else if I knew I would be leaving my team in the lurch?

It made my decision to try something new easier, knowing in was leaving my team in the hands of someone who was more than capable. Someone that was ready. There’s a sense of pride and achievement when you can either help someone to fulfill their potential or to help them earn a chance at taking the next step.

It’s not something that needs to be at the forefront of your thinking when leading a team, but having it somewhere does no harm. Helping your team mates or your team members grow comes with its own rewards.

Top comments (0)