DEV Community

Cécile Lebleu
Cécile Lebleu

Posted on

SQL pronunciation

Is SQL pronounced as S-Q-L or as sequel?

Both are listed on Wikipedia, but which one is the most popular or accepted way to pronounce it? Are there any reasons why one is better that the other?

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
dmfay profile image
Dian Fay

Either way is fine; the "sequel" pronunciation is more commonly associated with Microsoft SQL Server than with other RDBMSs, but both pronunciations are common enough people will know what you're talking about. Just don't pronounce it "squirrel" 😬

Collapse
 
elmuerte profile image
Michiel Hendriks

Just don't pronounce it "squirrel"

Too many of my colleagues do that. But they also pronounce SSH as PuTTY.

Collapse
 
elmuerte profile image
Michiel Hendriks • Edited

I vote for SQL. It works in more places than "sequel". For example: PostgreSQL.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Good point!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hmmmm... I've heard folks say both, but think I've heard more refer to it as sequel and have followed suit there with my own pronunciation. But, I'm curious about what others tend to go with!

Collapse
 
drewknab profile image
Drew Knab

Much like tabs and spaces I go where the team goes, but SQL is my preference.