DEV Community

Cory M
Cory M

Posted on

Cloud Resume Challenge

I have been working in Operational Technology (industrial control systems in power plants and oil refineries) for about 15 years, doing everything from initial construction and commissioning, to maintenance and modernization design reviews. I recently decided to transition to information security, and through studying and implementing projects, I fell in love with cloud services. This discovery pushed me to begin studying AWS services, which led me to find Cloud Resume Challenge.

Background

The project is a challenge that was created by Forrest Brazeal, who works in DevOps and cloud engineering. The challenge is to build a build a simple, static website of their resume using a multitude of cloud services. As the challenge allows you to choose your preferred cloud provider, I decided to used AWS because I already had some experience using it already, and had recently completed the AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner exam.

As I had chosen to use AWS, I began to lay out the infrastructure that would be needed to complete the project. S3 would host the static website, Route 53 and CloudFront would manage DNS requirements and secure website distribution. Creating a visitor counter would involve JavaScript calling API Gateway, triggering a Python Lambda function, which would read and append a DynamoDB table, and the necessary Roles would be managed with IAM. Eventually, the infrastructure would need to be written as "Infrastructure as Code" or IaC.

Implementation

In my experience doing AWS labs, I had used some individual parts of AWS, but not to the level that this project would demand. Because of this, I decided to start by manually setting up a S3 static website, Route 53, and CloudFront distribution. While everything went fine, I learned that any change of code necessitated an invalidation of the CloudFront cache to propagate the new code.

I am currently working on an error displaying the visitor counter updating correctly. I also have progress to make in the IaC front, I have been working in Terraform and have many bugs to work out. More to come soon.

Top comments (0)