DEV Community

David Scheer
David Scheer

Posted on

Perspective of a new Developer

What is confusing about platforms?

  • The focus on modern abstractions focuses on re-engineering web languages and replicating API features to make better apps. As technology changes and platforms seem to improve it is almost like a team would hit a complexity wall so to speak. Will platforms become more difficult? Builds should be able to recompile in about 3 seconds and in this video the interviewer says that 5 minute build times is unacceptable. Something that was confusing to me was that what technology would make the developers processes different but improve the users experience with the app.

How could web components and VanillaJS standards be taught in a way that is more approachable?

  • The aspect that makes developers more sought after within companies is their experience in VanillaJS. In order to become a strong developer you must know JS. It is a fundamental learning block all developers must become proficient in. Javascript is the way to write more readable paintable code and allow you to debug much easier. With the ever evolving framework as new ones are being created more often it is important to learn it in a simpler manner. It is hard to move from a single JS framework to another and having different frameworks is a great way to become more familiar with the language. Using different frameworks such as Angular, React and Vue will better your knowledge in the language as it allows you to learn to change your code while keeping the fundamentals of JS. Using tactics such as reading pure JS source code of your favorite framework to better understand what is used and how you can implement similar tactics in your own code. Being able to understand code used in unfamiliar frameworks can better understand the specific web components in JS and improve your knowledge. Reading different web articles on how the different frameworks translate to each other can also help better your knowledge.

What did you find easiest to work with on 1st stab?

Personally working with Vue was the easiest framework to work with. It was almost a direct translation between my original code and implementing it within Vue. I think to better my knowledge of Vanilla JS I could take time to try to implement my code within other frameworks as listed before (Angular and React) by reading others source code and try to understand it to the best of my ability and translate that into my own projects to become more comfortable in other frameworks.

Think back to tooling. What parts were confusing? What parts clicked with you immediately?

  • When referring to tooling in Vue something that I found much easier, I really liked the fact it is deployed from the latest commit and is overall designed for inspecting component compilation results. When reporting bugs I found it easier to sift through Vue and correct bugs. Something much more confusing for me was managing scaling. As you build upon your code and eventually scale it up to create a whole webpage I think this was much more confusing for me. Making larger applications on my own time I found it much harder to expand and add different components.

What additional readings did you do in order to make sense of things?

  • I defiantly did some outside research when learning React. I know that react has lots of benefits as it also works with Redux and other frameworks that can be beneficial to learn for industry. However, some important information I came across was don't try to cram more than you need. Focusing on react is most important and a golden rule of react as I read was Data and callbacks (to update data) are sent into child components nothing goes up to a parent component unless its a callback to do that the parent sent down originally. Learning this "Golden rule" allowed me to take a new approach to the program and I became much more intrigued by the software to learn more smaller rules that allow me to get a better understanding of the language.

% embed https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ChfjZV-aA_Y%

Top comments (0)