DEV Community

dgloriaweb
dgloriaweb

Posted on

Do a research before using unknown frameworks, unless you work alone

I ran into a situation, where I wished I was wealthy, not because I don't like challenges of solving a problem, no! I become a dev because I knew every problem has a solution given resources and time. But in a case like this, I'd pay a lot of money to anyone to solve this issue for me and leave me alone for good, and never see that framework again.

Despite all my suggestions to use P5.js or any well documented, stable environment, that has a few thousand issues on #stackoverflow already, a team mate chose a badly documented framework to develop an app, and handed it over on the delivery day with bugs. My next week was about trying to change a DOM element, and no matter how I tried, whenever something was fixed, something else broke. The code was well documented, but the framework's behaviour was totally impossible to debug. After working with many coding languages and frameworks, I never ever in my life felt so stupid and desperate then when I had to face the client, and my team, and tell them I failed again today.

Actually I don't even care, how the issue was solved (never happened to me before), because it doesn't matter if I get the point, there are people who will come after me. Personally I'd never do this to my co-workers, I always think of people who will work with my code. Occasionally the pressure is too high, because the management didn't make it clear to the client, that development is not a sprint, but the client is not stupid, especially those, who work with developers regularly. They don't want the impossible, but they require to be kept up to date and in the loop, rightfully. I totally understand coders who scrap the whole app and start new from scratch. Also knowing clients I'm aware that once the stuff works, they'll want more levels, features, dynamics, etc, and someone will suffer.

Please consider, talk to your future self, what tools should be used before making decisions. And if you already worked on it since a week, and find it odd, or counterintuitive, or badly documented, and no help online, SWITCH! Please. Thank you.

Top comments (0)