DEV Community

Cover image for My new Sass project taglog.io
Dusan Petkovic
Dusan Petkovic

Posted on

My new Sass project taglog.io

Aside from working full-time as a software engineer, I've always been eager to create something myself that would have the potential to grow and someday be sustainable—more specifically, a web application.

Maybe the hardest thing was choosing what to build, as I've always had ideas pop into my head, and many I've written down, but not until recently did I really get some traction on that.

It wasn't exactly recently; I started on this two years ago, then abandoned it a few months later. But now, I've picked it up again after almost losing all the source code when my phone died and 2-factor authenticator was lost, which made my original GitHub account inaccessible.

Anyways, more about the project. My original idea came from an old web application I used when I was still developing with PHP. There was a service called phpconsole that would integrate into your project, send individual log entries to a web app, and present them in a nicely formatted way for debugging. Eventually, that service was retired, but it kind of stuck with me, and I had the idea to build something similar, simple to use, but for all platforms.

After spending time at various companies, using an array of different logging tools, and also spending much time debugging, I've come to appreciate how a good logging tool can help in resolving issues, either locally or with production applications.

The initial concept was to create a simple interface that allows you to preview logs gathered from various sources into different channels, with filtering options to help narrow down and analyze the logs.

I have plans to add more features and options, but I would like to release this ASAP and have people testing it. That's why **I will be giving PRO account access to anyone willing to use it for development **for a few months, maybe even a year.

If you would like to get access and be one of the first user, feel free to comment here!

I will post updates in the coming weeks when I get it live.
The domain for the app is: taglog.io

Image description

Example how you would integrate taglog.io with your **react **project

import { useTaglogInit } from 'taglog-web-client'

function TestComponent() {
  const { captureInfo } = useTaglogInit({
    accessKey: '{accessKeyHere}',
    defaultChannel: '{testChannelKey}'
  })

  return (
    <div>
      <Button
        onClick={(e) => {
          captureInfo('Button Event Triggered', e)
        }}
      >
        Test Action
      </Button>
    </div>
  )
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

React Integration

Concept features:

  • Integrating with javascript projects
  • Able to sync logs to the cloud
  • Adding logs to channels
  • Grouping channels in projects that can be shared with team members
  • Live updates to channels (receive logs live)
  • Push notifications for new logs in channels (when subscribed)
  • Defining rules that trigger a notification (sms, email, push, webhook)
  • Near future (chrome plugin to sync console.logs console.errors etc..)
  • Near future (sync requests from web app)
  • Near future (add more frameworks and languages)

Thanks for reading! here's a potato

Image description

Top comments (0)