DEV Community

HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 611 : Still Standing

liner notes:

  • Professional : The day started off pretty great. Answered some messages from some folks. Good feedback on some things. Then I went to record a video for an upcoming conference. I had the bright idea that I should record it outside. So created a quick project that would scroll the script I wrote so I could read off it like a teleprompter. Great. I set everything up on a table. Cue the narrator saying "It was in that moment when he knew he effed up!" haha. A strong wind came and blew my laptop off of the stand. I had a little hope that everything would be fine, but nope! The screen was broken and when I plugged in an external monitor, nothing showed up and the touch bar wouldn't light up. I felt so terrible. I've never broken a work laptop ever. Told my manager and my manager's manager and they were both cool. Said to contact IT and tell them for what the next steps would be. I made the ticket and IT said they were sorry it happened and would send a laptop to me overnight. Wow! Still feel a little bad, but glad everyone was really understanding. So, I'm still standing. I finished recording the video and edited a few different variations and sent it to be reviewed.

  • Personal : Started working on how I wanted to store the data so that they would show on a new page I created in my side project. I already have the front end set up to look for the endpoint where the data will live. I created a graphic to share on social media.

View of a mountain chain covered in pine trees stretching into the distance in Rarău Mountains, Romania

The plan is to get the data saved in a way so that it knows to show in the page I created. Then style the data on the frontend and then create the actual real stories that will generate the data and start it all off. I want to set up a draft tweet so I can just send it in the morning.

Have a great night!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (0)