DEV Community

Cover image for Bad Programmer
Eury Vallejo
Eury Vallejo

Posted on

Bad Programmer

This is my first post in Dev, after clear all of my distractions, happens that I have many years developing differents web apps, desktop app, and more, but when the pandemic start I did get bad habits and I need to change them because I want to get to my previous shape when I was a very productive programmer, I started to read a recommended book called "Hooked" to fight with the bad habits and in this book found some tips that I like to share with the community and if you have tips to fight with the bad habits you can to share with me in the comments.

  • Multitasking is fake in real life, stay focus on only one thing.
  • Minimize Distraction.
    • Put your phone in a distance while working.
    • Avoid Social networks.
    • Don't read emails and other messages type that send information that your brain needs analyses.
    • Use a someone application to help you with the selfcontrol, actually I use [Forest App](https://bit.ly/3y73wNd)
  • Break task into chunk
    • It's easier when you work a task in separate chunks than you work the task completely, always use Git
  • Sleep always that you can and take breaks, this is the best part of my routine because, for a long time, I never took the time to rest until the end

See ya!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
wcardosos profile image
Wagner Cardoso

Great post! Congrats 🎉

Collapse
 
euryvallejo profile image
Eury Vallejo

Thanks Wagner!