DEV Community

Ethan Wayne
Ethan Wayne

Posted on • Updated on

CLI PROJECT!

I just completed my first CLI ruby project! For my project I chose scraping Bugatti website. So first I scraped the website and all the models I wanted to present in my program. After that I made the scraper file and got to the CLI stuff. This took a while and was pretty challenging, especially because it is a bit different than what an API looks like. After I completed all the files and code for the project I ran my program. In order to run my program you have to bundle install the gems and then in the terminal type "bin/Bugatti_Models" to run it. It will then present you with 5 models to choose from 1-5 and give you a short description. In order to leave the program type "Exit".
Although there was challenges, lots of patience, google, and a bit of help got me through my first project! Some of the issues I ran into was finalizing the project. For example getting the text in the terminal to output the models in the correct order "1-5" was difficult. I ended up getting some help and researching, although I know little about it I got it done.
From this project I learned a lot. A few things I learned was coding is not as easy as you anticipate. I had to restart multiple times and even tried making an API project cause I was stuck on scraping. In the end I learned that although some things such as this can be challenging there is always a way to overcome and figure them out.

Top comments (0)