DEV Community

Cover image for The Attack of (Generative) AI - DevHunt Digest #4
Geri Máté
Geri Máté

Posted on

The Attack of (Generative) AI - DevHunt Digest #4

DevHunt is the open-source platform where you can showcase your developer tool. Tools compete every week for the top spot. Here's a look at who's in the race this time.


AssignmentGPT AI

AssignmentGPT AI is a copy and content generation tool. And the first thing I noticed was the cursor: don't do this, please. I know projects do everything to stand out but this is very annoying. This is going to be a super subjective opinion, but I believe this landing page is doing too much. I don't understand the two fonts in the header, the animations make me dizzy and there's way too much information, overall. Sometimes less is more, and I think this landing page is a great example.

Moving on to the tool itself. The tool is a bit hard to figure out how to use, but after finding my ways out about it, I think the tool is really good. I prompted it to write a blog post about who's the greatest basketball player of all time, and it did a really good job. See the result for yourself below:

AssignmentGPT AI's take on the MJ vs. Lebron debate

I think AssignmentGPT AI is a promising tool but the landing page needs some rework. I think even ending the custom cursor would be a huge improvement - I was contemplating not giving a the tool a try because of the cursor, which would've been a shame because the tool isn't bad at all.

Cleed

Cleed is a LinkedIn lead generator. It utilizes a Google Chrome extension, your job is to set up the basic parameters of the generation, including its name and how many contacts you'd like to generate from a LinkedIn search or the sales navigator.

It's easy to use, but there's some room for improvements. First of all, when you use the extension, you can't type how many leads you'd like to get. You need to use the arrows to adjust the number. Then when the list is generated, you need to download a CSV from Cleed. In my case, this meant I needed to download the file and upload it to my Google Drive to be able to view the results. This should be a lot easier, in my opinion. I can imagine there might be some data protection requirements to consider here, though.

CodeWiz

CodeWiz is an AI code companion. It supports Angular, React and Vue, as in a ChatGPT bot answers your questions based on the framework's documentation. Three frameworks might be a good start, but I'm sure they'll need to increase the languages supported if they want to get it going.

I see the benefits of CodeWiz not being another VSCode plugin. It just makes sense to not invite a 3rd party tool to expose sensitive data to vulnerabilities. And I'm not implying that plugins necessarily bear the risk but even OpenAI advises against sending sensitive data to ChatGPT.

Another thing I like about CodeWiz is that they include the source of the data and the last update of said data. Makes it easier to check the validity of the information you get from the bot.

Being an in-browser code companion might be disruptive to overall productivity, especially when you work with a single laptop screen, however.

InstaCharts

InstaCharts is a tool that turns your data in CSV, JSON and other formats into a chart. What I like about InstaCharts isn't necessarily the tool itself, it's the blog. They create blog posts about when to use certain chart formats to visualize data the best way.

The tool itself is good, and easy to use, too.

Chadview

Chadview is a job interview "assistant". It listens to your Zoom interview and gives GPT-based answers and insights. I initially wasn't sure about who this tool is designed for, the interviewer or the interviewee, but after signing up it's obvious that it's for the latter.

I don't really like this premise to facilitate for cheating in interviews. It's going to be obvious eventually if you're clueless when you can't complete a simple task without assistance that you inflated your technical knowledge. So, one could say that this tool is doing more harm than help, as it's just a tool to waste everyone's time in its current shape.

One could argue that a good software developer's knowledge doesn't necessarily lie in verbatim information and knowing the documentation word for word of a language or a tool. But would you build a business with the aide of someone who needs a GPT bot to nail an interview?

I think it could be a great tool to involve non-technical stakeholders of the hiring process to give quick notes and insights about the meeting for evaluation.

Aside from the moral aspects of this tool, Chadview is a Google Chrome extension. It supports 6 languages, English, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Ukrainian and Chinese, and covers topics related to developer, DevOps, data scientist (?), analyst and QA engineer positions.

DocKing

DocKing is an open-source microservice for document template management. You can use it to render and export PDFs, too.

I think that this project's readme needs some improvements, especially emphasizing some of the use cases, because right now it seems to me that it's an overengineered and overdeveloped solution for a problem that's already solved by far less complicated tools.

I could be dead wrong on this, though.

KV Pear

KV Pear is a key-value pair storage. It's not open-source unfortunately. Why not? It would be pretty cool to self-host a tool like this, and it makes perfect sense, too.

Anyway, KV Pear is a tool that covers the necessary capabilities for key-value pair storage. I like its simplistic approach and the documentation.

React Live Island

React Live Island is an open-source dynamic island component for React. I'm an Android user, so I don't have an iOS user's perspective on the dynamic island. It seems good to me, though.

I haven't heard about Kee until I saw this launch, it's like a Linktree alternative, I guess. It's easy to use, I set up my own site in no time.

YouLaunch.AI

YouLaunch.AI is a landing page generator. The idea is to prompt this tool and it's going to generate a website. They have a demo site, which I tested. My demo website was done in a minute and while the copies and everything seemed like the ones you'd expect from a generative AI, it's really a good way to accelerate things. You can see the results below:

YouLaunch.AI's generation for a restaurant reservation chatbot

I was unable to give the settings a try, though, as it required a subscription.

Treblle

Treblle is a lightweight SDK for API development.

Treblle is a very mature tool compared to this week's batch. I only looked at the demo site, it essentially covers everything you'd expect from an API development tool. I think documentation is information rich, and the tool itself supports more than a dozen platforms. So if you're developing an API, it's worth giving a look. You can find out if it's useful to you in 2 minutes and I feel like it will be.

IndexGuru

IndexGuru is an SEO tool. I've done SEO work a few years ago, I wouldn't call myself an expert about it. I don't have any domains added to my Google Search Console, though. Therefore, I wasn't able to give this tool an appropriate, in-depth test run.

IndexGuru's idea is promising, though: it's supposed to speed up indexing, so your SEO efforts should pay off faster.

PullNotify

PullNotify is a GitHub code review tool. It sends notifications in Slack and shows metrics about PRs in a dashboard. I like this idea a lot: it's a great idea to track how much time PRs need to be reviewed, fixed, and then merged. It's the cornerstone of increasing productivity.

I think it could be improved immensely by adding at least Discord as a supported chat platform. Other than that, good job!

contentable.ai

contentable.ai is an ML model comparison tool. GPT, PaLM, and LLaMA are available in contentable.ai. Obviously, the improved models are available for paid users.

Anyway, you can test the same prompt with multiple models at the same time. In advanced mode, you can even add variables and parameters. Cool stuff.

TimeComplexity.ai

TimeComplexity.ai is a code analyzation tool that gives back a review about your runtime in Big O. It supports every programming language and utilizes GPT-3.5 Turbo.

Gali AI

Gali AI is a custom chatbot you can train for various uses. I tried to train my own chatbot but I couldn't figure it out how free users can do it. Pricing section of the landing page is a bit misleading: it has Get started buttons all over it, except you can't get started, even if you'd like to pay. Hard to give an opinion about this tool.


That's it for the weekly batch of developer tools that launched on DevHunt. What's your favorite project out of them? Leave it in the comments and show some love by casting a vote!

Top comments (0)