DEV Community

Cover image for Hardware specifications for Developers on a budget
Godwill Barasa
Godwill Barasa

Posted on

Hardware specifications for Developers on a budget

Back story

Remember the purple knight, well, sadly, it broke in the middle of a project.

Alt Text

Its specifications were Intel Celeron, 4 GB Ram, and 500 Hard disk space. Not the fastest I know, but I managed to make do with what I had for the last two years by making use of the lightweight Linux Distribution OS: Kubuntu. Still to this day, former workmates at Legibra remember me as the Kubuntu guy)

Alt Text

Time for new hardware.

I ordered a MacBook Pro 2020.

End of article. Thanks for reading.

Or is it

MacBook Saga

Just kidding. As you might already know am from Nairobi, Kenya. I am 22 years old and the mighty MacBook Pro 13 2020 costs Kshs. 198,000 (2100 USD), which is exorbitantly expensive for my current unemployed economic status ( contact me for remote jobs, my people ) that option is out of the window for me. If you are deep-pocketed I would definitely recommend you get the MacBook Pro. It's good for taking Instagram pictures.

The one and only tech lead

Other brands I would recommend you check out Microsoft Surface Pro 7, HP Spectre x360, Lenovo ThinkPad X1. These options are well above the 1,00O USD ( Kshs. 110,000, not forgetting inflation of prices by around 200 USD for “shipping fee”).

Sadly, That’s definitely not my budget ( as per now, don’t forget to contact me for any open remote positions).

Alt Text

The basics

In general, what I need is :
*Intel i5 CPU, with an i7, preferred
*8GB RAM, with 16GB, preferred
*1920 x 1080 resolution display.
*Decent GPU
*Support for multiple displays ( for the cool multi-monitor environment)
*SSD support at very least with secondary HDD

Reality Check

For my fellow Kenyans, Nigerians, and Mzanzi brothers and sisters: these brands might not be readily available at the nearest shop to you. I would suggest going to the shop and just showing the shop-guy these specifications and see what options you have. You will get the best value that way. However, if the models at your nearest shop don’t match (because for some reason they all sell i3 with 4 GB RAM), I suggest looking for a reliable shipper* ( can be a friend you made at dev.to) who would source the product from Best Buy (since the USA get the best prices) then ship them to you.

I suggest Kentex Cargo for Kenyans. Do your research depending on where you are.

Beware of frauds. Stay safe.

My budget is around $400 to $800 (ouch).

My options

Dell Inspiron 5991

Lenovo c740

Lenovo Flex 14

Asus Vivobook

HP Envy

Comment below on what hardware you use and what you use it for.

Feel free to contact me on LinkedIn or Instagram and tell me stories. Related or unrelated. I love making new friends from around the world.

Also, I am a front-end developer open to remote work. If you have an open position or side gig, help me get the MacBook Pro (To take beautiful Instagram pics with) by scheduling me for an interview.

Alt Text

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
nicholaskarimi profile image
Nicholas Karimi

Dell XPS 13 is my go to after retiring my Lenovo Idea pad 110 running Ubuntu mid next year. It's specs are, intel core i3, 3.8Ghz, 1Tb HDD, 4gb ram.