DEV Community

Hidemichi Shimura
Hidemichi Shimura

Posted on

Who Am I?

Hello! My name is Hidemichi Shimura

I am a Japanese who was born and raised in Okinawa, which is a small island located in the southern part of Japan and has beautiful beaches, nature and delicious cuisines. I spent all of my life in the small island. Although I was there for my entire life, I am currently in Vancouver, Canada. Why am I in Canada, which is very far from Japan? And what am I doing there?

What I do in Canada

There are many reasons why people come to Canada. Then what about me? I am a student at Cornerstone International Community College of Canada, which is abbreviated to CICCC. My course at CICCC is Web and Mobile Development. Maybe you can guess what I learn at school from the course name. Just as your guess, I learn programming for developing web sites, web applications, mobile applications and etc.

Why I learn Web and Mobile Development in Canada

The reason I decided to go to Vancouver for learning web and mobile development is that Vancouver's tech industry has been growing rapidly and attracting a number of engineers from other countries. Besides those facts, there is one more attractive thing to me. It is salary💵. Software engineers in Vancouver tend to get paid well compared to ones in Japan. When I found out those facts, they instantly got my attention, made me decide to go to Vancouver and become a software engineer in Vancouver.

What I learn at school

Let me tell you what I am actually learning and what I want to become in the future. I want to become a software engineer who can be engaged in various things at the later phase of my career. But for now, I am more interested in front-end development. Therefore I have been learning technical skills in regard to front-end development such as HTML, CSS and JavaScript.

What I want to become

I am currently trying to become a front-end developer. But once I become a front-end developer and acquire years of experiences as a front-end developer, I want to learn about back-end development as well and shift to a back-end side. When I obtain experiences of both front-end and back-end, I would like to start my career as a full-stack developer. I have not made a decision of what I want to become after becoming a full-stack developer yet. But I might continue being a full-stack developer or dive into another field such as DevOps. But I am sure that I will experience a lot of things and figure out what I want to do next in the tech industry.

My Goal

One of the benefits to become a software engineer is that you can work from anywhere. You might be able to work from home, another work space, a cafe and maybe a beach. My goal is that I work from a beach. If I could work from a beach, I would finish work and dive into water right away. In order to make it come true, I am going to keep learning!

Top comments (0)