DEV Community

adro.codes
adro.codes

Posted on

Fast way to calculate rem online

Use JustREM

Let's get the obvious thing out of the way, this isn't super original. Onto the fun stuff!

The goal of this project was to create a site where I can easily convert a px value into a rem value. I found that other tools online that are meant to do this are slow, clunky, a pain to use, and they load 400 million ads.

🎉 Introducing JustREM!!!

JustREM is the tool I wanted to use;

  • It calculates the rem as you type it
  • You can change what is appended to the value (which is something I needed to do while using a design system)
  • You can change the base value
  • Loads fast and works faster

The tech

The website is built using Nextjs with styled components using emotion. Finally, I used now to host the website. If you're interested in the source code, you can find that here. Fair warning, this was a "hack something quickly" project so don't be too critical of the code.

All in all, the combination of Next, emotion and now makes for a very quick tech stack for any "quick and dirty" projects. 11/10.


Thank you for reading my article, it really means a lot! ❤️ Please provide any feedback or comments, I'm always looking to improve and having meaningful discussions. This article was written as part of my #myweekinjs challenge, I have a few interesting articles there if you are interested in learning that.

👋 until next time!

Top comments (0)