DEV Community

Cover image for The 5 Visual Studio extensions you must have if you are a Frontend Developer
Jose Latines
Jose Latines

Posted on

The 5 Visual Studio extensions you must have if you are a Frontend Developer

Extensions are very useful while working on a project, they help us to be more efficient and to get rid of repetitive actions that take us time as Front End developers and that's why I want to give you my 5 essential extensions that I use in everyday life.

5. Code Spell Checker

Download here

This is one of my favorite ones, it's a spell checker in our editor.

How many times you spell a word incorrectly and you don't realize until it is too late and your code is huge and now you have this disgusting problem.

Or how many times you know that you wrote a word incorrectly but you don't care and you decided to spell it correctly later.

Code Spell Checker preview

It has support in many other languages too.

4. Auto Rename Tag

Download here

Stop changing html tags twice! This extension saves you time, it automatically rename paired HTML/XML tag, same as Visual Studio IDE does.

Auto Rename Tag preview

3. Prettier - Code formatter

Download here

Prettier is an opinionated code formatter. It enforces a consistent style by parsing your code and reprinting it with its own rules that take the maximum line length into account, wrapping code when necessary.

You can have your own rules to format your code.

Prettier

2. Color Highlight

Download here

With this extension you can visualize your colors in hex, , rgb, rga, etc…
This makes it very easy to see at a glance which colors you’re using.

Just look at this!

Color Highlight

1. JavaScript (ES6) code snippets

Download here

This extension contains code snippets for JavaScript in ES6 syntax for Vs Code editor (supports both JavaScript and TypeScript).

Literally I only need these 6 extensions in my code editor, I love them because I really use and need them.

Do you have any other useful extensions I should try? Let me know, it is free!

Follow me on twitter for more content like this @joselatines33

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

VS Code now has matching colour bracket functionality built in so no need for Bracket Pair Colorizer anymore.

Collapse
 
joselatines profile image
Jose Latines

Oh really?! I didn't know that! Thank you for notice me

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Yeah it used to be my favourite extension that I used to recommend now I need to find another top extension πŸ˜…

Thread Thread
 
joselatines profile image
Jose Latines

If you find one please notice me!