DEV Community

Julia Brazolim
Julia Brazolim

Posted on

my first hacktoberfest :)

This was the first time I made contributions to projects on Github and I was only able to do so due to Hacktoberfest 2020. Before that, I had a certain fear of making a pull request, because I didn't know the basics of Git and thought that people would reject my contributions because I did something wrong... or whatever, that I wasn't good at. I say this because Github is a Universe still being explored by me, that I'm getting to know little by little. And Git, was something that I haded problems to "record" the commands in my mind...

But finding repositories that brought in your README step by step to make pull requests gave me some peace of mind. Another thing that helped me a lot was this video of the Brazilian programmer Claudson Oliveira:

What I Learned From Hacktoberfest 2020

And beyond finally learning how to make extraction requests, I learned that the amazing open source projects have easy, complicated and difficult questions to solve. Another thing is that you don't just have to contribute code. You can help translate a structure or you can contribute README that needs proofreading or more content.

My contributions

I started with the basics: learn to pull request with Git. And for that, I followed the steps described in the README and sent my name to this repository codersanjeev/learn-git. This was just a test. 😌

Okay, after that I went hunting for projects that needed contributions (and that were using the Hacktoberfest tag). I tried to give priority to Brazilian repositories for two reasons: Brazil is my country and the content in Portuguese would facilitate my understanding. Discovered that the Perifacode project has a repository that accepts tips from free technology courses, so I contributed by adding the SoloLearn website to the README.

Another README that I contributed, was for one that lists the best tests of (Buzzfeed to relax us programmers)[https://github.com/dandaramcsousa/grandes-testes-do-buzzfeed]. Cool huh?

But... I didn't just want to mess with README. I wanted to contribute with codes. And recently, I started studying Python so I had the idea of ​​looking for repositories that would accept simple Python algorithms that did something interesting. 🐍

So I contributed to this repository (iagotito/hacktoberfest)[https://github.com/iagotito/hacktoberfest], sending an algorithm in Python that converts the temperature from Celcius to Fahrenheit. And for this repository (manish-virgat/Hacktoberfest-Python)[https://github.com/manish-virgat/Hacktoberfest-Python], sending an algorithm that returns if the letter typed is a vowel or consonant. Nice!

cat

That's it. This was a brief description of my first participation in Hacktoberfest and now that I have learned, I will continue contributing to the community 💜

Top comments (0)