DEV Community

Cover image for πŸ’» The JavaScript Technical Interview Workbook (400+ questions)
Kauress
Kauress

Posted on • Updated on

πŸ’» The JavaScript Technical Interview Workbook (400+ questions)

ps: Update: pre-sale here

Introduction

Hi devs especially junior devs! For the past 5 months I've been super focused on writing a technical interview guide for juniors who want to break into the web-development industry. Since a solid grounding in JavaScript is paramount to clearing interviews focused on web applications, I wanted to write a guide that would help junior developers learn and practice at the same time.

Why?

I've been a coding bootcamp instructor for the past 4 years, and some of the questions that I've been asked concerning job opportunities and employment are:

  1. Will I get a job after this?
  2. How many projects do I need to complete in order to start interviewing?
  3. How can I test my JavaScript knowledge?
  4. How should I prepare for technical interviews? What will I be asked?

Circumventing life issues to get employed!

The best way for junior developers to circumvent the issue of not having enough experience/projects and still get employed is to do plenty of coding exercises (including on old and newer ES features) without having done whole projects on them.

This demonstrates a practical understanding of core and advanced JavaScript concepts.

Often people have to balance multiple things while they learn to code including part-time jobs. Therefore, they're on a time crunch and may or may not be able to commit to doing projects. I've faced this with students before. They have committed to learning to code but life just gets in the way.

There are also people who leave everything including employment in order to learn how to code. The more time they spend out of web-dev employment status means the more they dip into their savings and deplete their bank balances.

So this technical guide is focused on circumventing these issues in a practical and straightforward way.

Each section of each chapter has about 70 - 90 coding exercises + underlying theory. The basic premise is that you read a section, practice the coding exercises and then move on to the next section.

Therefore solidifying your base at each step. Moving you from basic to advanced concepts.

Check it out here

If you'd like to read more on the guide please check it out here

Topic outline

  1. Foundation
  2. Objects
  3. Arrays
  4. Functions
  5. The DOM
  6. Data Structures and Algorithms

Alt Text

Alt Text

Alt Text

Alt Text

Alt Text

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
kauresss profile image
Kauress

No. It's a link re-directing to a landing page.

Collapse
 
kauresss profile image
Kauress

Thank you to all that have liked and subscribed. A small note, I have updated the curriculum. At this point I am reaching out to hiring managers to get a perspective from the other side of the table. All is on track!

Collapse
 
obliterator969 profile image
obliterator969

You're welcome. How much will this guide going to cost ?

Collapse
 
obliterator969 profile image
obliterator969

I need this for my interview, can you please send it to me ?

Collapse
 
kauresss profile image
Kauress

Pre sale: gum.co/JieDN

Collapse
 
kauresss profile image
Kauress

Hi, I will be releasing it soon!

Collapse
 
buzzfair profile image
Guin White

I do love the UI for dev.to, and I definitely want a copy of this workbook as soon as it's ready!