DEV Community

Kelly Vaughn
Kelly Vaughn

Posted on

I hereby challenge you to a programming poetry smackdown.

Give me your best poem. Here are two of my favorites:

Top comments (23)

Collapse
 
pitweetie profile image
Andy Lamb • Edited

There once was a curious person,
Who wanted learn of recursion.
They searched Wikipedia,
It couldn't be easier.
For recursion, please see 'recursion'.

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown 🇨🇦

Control+C does not work for me

shebang shebang
my eyes hurt from typing
shebang shebang
my mind hurts from thinking
shebang shebang
my butt hurts from sitting
shebang shebang
my heart hurts shes leaving
shebang shebang
I'm coding instead of sleeping
shebang shebang

Also for those who may not know what's a shebang (!#)

Collapse
 
fluffynuts profile image
Davyd McColl

(not totally original, but I've actually used this for a 404 page):
The end point you seek
cannot be located but
endless others exist

Collapse
 
phlash profile image
Phil Ashby

Nice :)

Had this as mine for a few years: ashbysoft.com/whoops

Collapse
 
ryanrousseau profile image
Ryan Rousseau • Edited

alloc, dealloc
managing memory, cake
segmentation fault

Collapse
 
bhupesh profile image
Bhupesh Varshney 👾

Nice one 😂

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Might have to revisit this thread, but for now:

Collapse
 
guitarino profile image
Kirill Shestakov

Begin your day, feels okay,
Click-clack, fix a bug,
const and var, review a PR,
And deploy the front-end at the very end.

Time to go home and disappear,
[INSERT YOUR LIFE HERE]

Collapse
 
_bigblind profile image
Frederik 👨‍💻➡️🌐 Creemers

Roses are #F00
Violets are #00F
I've coded myself into a corner,
because hex codes don't rhyme;

Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

Brain brain gone away, these bugs will forever stay.

It’s broke it, it’s fixed, who knows what I did.

Collapse
 
keevcodes profile image
Andrew McKeever

Why is this broken?
Maybe I'll run it again?
Well, why did that work?

Collapse
 
maslowjax profile image
Brandon Dimperio

Roses are red, Violet is blue. I learned F# and you can too.

Collapse
 
aadibajpai profile image
Aadi Bajpai

I do not work out
Stuff doesn't work out for me
This is not a haiku

Collapse
 
pauloneilluk profile image
Paul O'Neill
Collapse
 
simov profile image
simo

Classes, Abstractions, and DRY - things that made me look clever
Closures, Curry, and Composition - things that made my whole life better

Collapse
 
fprime profile image
Frankie

How does it work?
I will open the black box
It's written in C

Collapse
 
johnpaulada profile image
John Paul Ada

Bookmarking this for the day a brilliant programming poem idea pops up in my head.