DEV Community

KingKatraz
KingKatraz

Posted on

Why did you decide to study Software Engineering?

My name is Hal H. Nader. I was born in Nyack, NY and raised in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. I would like to think that I have my own relationship with technology that contributed greatly in me wanting to be a software engineer today. My real significant interaction was when I accidentally came across a music production software on my uncle's computer called Fruity Loops. I was probably 11 years old. I had no idea what it did and was even more perplexed by the user interface. Nonetheless, my mind was blown when it started making sounds that I had unknowingly programmed into a step sequencer. Fast forward 10 years, I ended up attending Full Sail University and studied the Music Industry. Along the way, I held multiple jobs in the Telecom industry and needless to say that technology was a big part of what I did. More often than not, I'd hear terms like 'software', 'programming' and other similar verbiage thrown around so I eventually caught on. I understood early on the immense power of being able to code and alter the web as you pleased. Being able to make your own content or coming up with algorithms that will change the way things are done in a field or industry. I also got into coding as a way to reinvent myself and switch fields because I hated my life. I want to be able to work, be there for my child and make enough of a salary to be financially free eventually. Another aspect of coding that is very fulfilling for me is solving problems and being challenged by my code. I am very excited about my choice of attending Flatiron and looking forward to my new lifestyle.

Top comments (0)