DEV Community

Cover image for Year after I left my job to become software developer
Klaudia Jaszczak
Klaudia Jaszczak

Posted on

Year after I left my job to become software developer

On International Women's Day, I would like to share with you what positive changes I have made in my life in the last year. 😊

Back in 2020, I was working as a financial controller. Some of my responsibilities were creating many financial reports, conducting optimization meetings, and implementing KPIs. While creating yet another similar report, I was constantly thinking about automating my work.🤖 The words "optimization" and "automation" were constantly on my mind. I wanted to improve and speed up everything. So I went to VBA training in Excel to be able to do some things faster and more automated way.

And then I started to think about programming more and more. I found it extremely interesting and magical. Probably for many beginners - programming is magic. I am writing something line by line and suddenly... WOW so much has happened! 🔥😎 When you can see the results of your work, it gives a lot of satisfaction.

A great inspiration for me is my wonderful husband who is an experienced programmer. Seeing my enthusiasm for the field of programming, he offered to teach me JavaScript. And that's how I started learning. Soon after I left my job and entered this beautiful and magical world of software development. 🪄

I am very satisfied with this decision for many reasons.

  • First of all, I am fulfilling myself. Programming is a very developing activity. It requires concentration, logical thinking, and constant training, which translates into maintaining a good condition of the brain.
  • Programming gives a lot of satisfaction - when the code works, of course, and teaches a great deal of patience - when the code does not work. 😄
  • Thanks to working as a software developer, I can also work remotely, from anywhere in the world. During last year, I saw many beautiful places that I had only heard about before. 💚 When I want to visit my family, I don't have to take a break. I can take my laptop and work from my family home, spending the afternoons with my loved ones. This freedom of life and development stimulates creativity and gives me a lot of joy personally.
  • Moreover, I believe programming is the future. Thanks to programming, we can change the world for the better.

I would still call myself a novice programmer, but today on International Women's Day I wish myself that in the future I will create beautiful things with code. 💚 🍀

I am also very curious about your stories (not only of women)? What professions did you give up to change your life? And are you satisfied with these changes? 😊

And finally, all the best, my dear women, fulfill yourselves and do not be afraid of changes, because only changes can improve something in our lives! Kisses!💋

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jaszczw profile image
Wojciech Jaszczak

Let this be just the beggining of a great carrer in tech! 🚀