DEV Community

Cover image for Year after I left my job to become software developer
Klaudia Jaszczak
Klaudia Jaszczak

Posted on

Year after I left my job to become software developer

On International Women's Day, I would like to share with you what positive changes I have made in my life in the last year. 😊

Back in 2020, I was working as a financial controller. Some of my responsibilities were creating many financial reports, conducting optimization meetings, and implementing KPIs. While creating yet another similar report, I was constantly thinking about automating my work.πŸ€– The words "optimization" and "automation" were constantly on my mind. I wanted to improve and speed up everything. So I went to VBA training in Excel to be able to do some things faster and more automated way.

And then I started to think about programming more and more. I found it extremely interesting and magical. Probably for many beginners - programming is magic. I am writing something line by line and suddenly... WOW so much has happened! πŸ”₯😎 When you can see the results of your work, it gives a lot of satisfaction.

A great inspiration for me is my wonderful husband who is an experienced programmer. Seeing my enthusiasm for the field of programming, he offered to teach me JavaScript. And that's how I started learning. Soon after I left my job and entered this beautiful and magical world of software development. πŸͺ„

I am very satisfied with this decision for many reasons.

  • First of all, I am fulfilling myself. Programming is a very developing activity. It requires concentration, logical thinking, and constant training, which translates into maintaining a good condition of the brain.
  • Programming gives a lot of satisfaction - when the code works, of course, and teaches a great deal of patience - when the code does not work. πŸ˜„
  • Thanks to working as a software developer, I can also work remotely, from anywhere in the world. During last year, I saw many beautiful places that I had only heard about before. πŸ’š When I want to visit my family, I don't have to take a break. I can take my laptop and work from my family home, spending the afternoons with my loved ones. This freedom of life and development stimulates creativity and gives me a lot of joy personally.
  • Moreover, I believe programming is the future. Thanks to programming, we can change the world for the better.

I would still call myself a novice programmer, but today on International Women's Day I wish myself that in the future I will create beautiful things with code. πŸ’š πŸ€

I am also very curious about your stories (not only of women)? What professions did you give up to change your life? And are you satisfied with these changes? 😊

And finally, all the best, my dear women, fulfill yourselves and do not be afraid of changes, because only changes can improve something in our lives! Kisses!πŸ’‹

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jaszczw profile image
Wojciech Jaszczak

Let this be just the beggining of a great carrer in tech! πŸš€