DEV Community

Korir Moses
Korir Moses

Posted on

Reading through a Dotnet Project Codebase

Have recently switched from writing code in in Django to dotnet C Sharp ,there some elements I had chosen to neglect that one cant do with out having to understand in dotnet, On my first day as an intern i had to quickly learn all the dotnet basics and well the basic felt really similar to python except of course maybe the semi colons that were apparently needed almost everywhere. The next thing thing was being given, the company's project codebase which well, those complex projects you see on GitHub and you are like this ain't for me yet, that is exactly how I felt except that this time round I didn't have a choice. Not to slander on Django or python generally but most of the API projects I build there I had pretty much everything defined straight forward ,Models on the side have your views on this other end and well register your views and settings, then lastly if you don't want to use abstractions or constructors go ahead "we can do without, And well we don't need interfaces also out of the bag we have made an admin portal for you so don't even bother. All these worked well for me they got things done, I mean isn't that the end goal, what does a slightly experienced guy like me want in more. Fast forward now I was swimming in the deep and the only way out is to get to the other side. I had to learn all these new concepts from the onion architecture interfaces proper interfaces asynchronous Tasks or at least have a nice idea about them since they were already implemented in the codebase, to ease in better understanding of the code and to be able to fit in. So Generally it took me a Two weeks to able to understand the project and the several services that were in the project. Perhaps i should talk about the few strategies I employed in working through the code .Honestly I had no strategy I just skimmed trough to the basics of dotnet since the difference are minimal as compared to other languages. After which I read through the project to understand the general architecture of their project files to understand how the related and and inferred with each other. After ensuring that my project was set up, I in run the project while setting up several break points just to get the all journeys the project went while noting them done .This helped me understand the core project, thanks for your time I hope this helps .

Top comments (0)