DEV Community

julie
julie

Posted on • Updated on

My Redemption Arc

As I approach the end of my Data Science bootcamp, I want to reflect on MY journey. If you had asked me about my life’s direction last year, I wouldn’t have a clear answer for you. The past couple of years has been challenging, with a bleak outlook on the future and stressful job searches.

The first week of the program hit me like a truck. I truly underestimated the intensity of what I had gotten myself into. Doubts crept in, and I questioned my capability. There were moments I didn’t think I would make it this far.

For context, I want to share a bit about myself. This is not for sympathy points but to have an understanding of where I am coming from. I have a learning disability and you may think a bootcamp is definitely NOT the place for someone like me. And I agree. The uncomfortable pace at which this program moves is almost impossible to follow. I’m surprised and proud of myself for getting this far, especially considering it has been absolute hell for me without medication. Due to a nationwide Adderall shortage, I have had to explore alternative methods to cope. With the right accommodations and self-kindness (reminder: this is all new and unfamiliar), this process has been having a positive impact on my mental and physical well-being. I had very unhealthy study habits when I was in college where I functioned on less than 5 hours of sleep, isolated myself, and had a poor diet. This time around I knew I could not continue that route or I would be burnout again. I have been neglecting my mental health for so long and now, it’s finally catching up to me. Trust me, nothing is more important than your well-being; it deserves to be prioritized and respected! This approach is crucial for positive learning experiences. I now try to get a good 7 hours of sleep, eat well(ish) (a lot of spinach!), and ask for help when needed (very important!!). A helpful practice for me is to add comments on every line of code. It not only helps others follow my thought process when reading my code but also reinforces my understanding of the materials and for future Julie, as well!

Things I wish I knew before starting the bootcamp

Most bootcamps advertise that anyone can do it and I DO strongly believe anyone can learn to code. For some, it will take more time and it’s perfectly okay (I’m in that boat too). That being said, these bootcamps are adversary to time. While there is prep work that needs to be completed before the start of the program, however, I don’t think that was enough preparation for what you are about to get yourself into. I can’t emphasize this enough: please be comfortable with the programming language you will be using before you begin. It is the foundation of everything you will be learning!!

If you are interested in doing Data Science, datacamp has been my lifeline in addition to the resources provided by my bootcamp. Note: If you do decide to use datacamp, don’t pay full price for it. They frequently offer discounts!

Hopeful

Looking back on my progress, I have learned a tremendous amount in a relatively short timeframe. I have worked on collaborative projects, created machine learning models, gained confidence in presenting my work, and I'm coding! I feel like I've been given a second chance to redeem myself. While there's still a long road ahead, I finally have a sense of direction and no longer feel like I am aimlessly wandering. Not to sound trite, but I see the light at the end of the tunnel and can't help but feel hopeful and excited about what lies ahead in my career!

I wish you the absolute best in your career journey. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to me! Let’s connect!

Top comments (0)