DEV Community

Tong Liu
Tong Liu

Posted on

Reflect for Lab03

Git Repo: SSGifier
Issues: Issue 10, Issue 11

This week I added language support to SSGifier to enable its function to add the lang attribute to of each file it generated, also I added a series of exit codes to reflect whether or not the program has encountered an error after running. Before implementing this week’s content, I first respectively created 2 issues to explain what were I going to do and I created 2 branches named with the issue numbers to indicate which branch is for which issue fix, and then I implemented each new feature in each branch. After having it implemented, I merged my code back to the main branch and resolved some conflicts between these 2 branches and the main branch.
The problems I met in this week’s update are mainly branch related. First, switching different branches from time to time is very forgettable which means that I always forgot which branch were I at and had the code implemented at the wrong branch. Second, was that it was difficult to solve conflict issues because while I was merging the code I had to remember which line of code I had edited, otherwise I could accidentally flush those functions that I have already implemented.
Next time when I work between branches I should always make clear which branch I am currently at, even install some plugins to my terminal to indicate it. Also, to alleviate the hardship of merging conflict code, I should always make comment on my code so that I will know which part I have edited.

Top comments (0)