DEV Community

Cover image for What's your bread and butter?
Maciek Fitzner
Maciek Fitzner

Posted on

What's your bread and butter?

Despite the idiom used, I'm not asking about your job. The very opposite of it, actually. Is there something you do in your spare time that has nothing to do with coding, and yet satisfies the same drive and passion.
For me that's my kitchen experiments:

Bread:

  • plain wheat, crazy shapes A loaf of plain wheat bread composed of small balls of dough
  • chickpea/lentil bread (that's crazy enough in itself) A loaf of chickpea and lentil gluten-free bread That's what started my foodie passion. I needed to learn to make my own gluten-free bread because those cost an arm and a leg back in the day. I developed my own buckwheat bread recipe. And while I can't eat gluten, I love the texture, the stretchiness and the maleable nature - so I'm happy to make wheat and rye breads for my family. A couple years later I needed to make another switch, to low-oxalate diet - and ditch my buckwheat bread entirely. Enter chickpea and lentils. While researching low-oxalate options I read somewhere that while walnuts are a no-no, the oil is fine. Not a super fan of walnuts, and never had walnut oil before - but I had to try. Now I'm absolutely obsessed with it - and while I can't eat walnuts, my family love walnut cakes, and so I'm more than happy to make them: Walnut cake and a bottle of walnut oil, bot of my own making Those are just the tip of the iceberg of what I do in the kitchen. Yogurt, sourdough bread, flax gel, flax butter, custard... Any simple, basic dish that I can try, tweak, re-interpret - sometimes just for the sake of trying rather than any practical use. Which mirrors my aprroach to coding. Webdev is not my actual job, just a hobby - and rather than proper websites or apps I mostly experiment with 3D shapes coded in pure CSS. It's not useful or practical - but it's just so much FUN:

What's your chickpea bread and flax butter?

Top comments (0)