DEV Community

Cover image for Are GUIs better for learning purposes?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

Are GUIs better for learning purposes?

Many concepts like OS services, databases, version control, API testing, etc often come with both CLI and GUI, meaning you can use them via the terminal and graphical interface.

Do you prefer to use GUIs when learning a new concept?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
dowenb profile image
Ben Dowen • Edited

I like a mix, as follows:

  • CLI I can script against
  • IDE with plugins for auto complete, formatting, lint where possible
  • Excellent docs with fully working examples I can build
  • Good reference to show me what is possible
  • style guide with any best practice or what to avoid
  • A web UI should there be anything I need to monitor or get feedback as to its current state!

Yes I know I'm asking a lot. But a great developer experience really needs these things.

Collapse
 
codebyjustin profile image
Justin

I do prefer GUI's for learning new concepts.

Collapse
 
itsjzt profile image
Saurabh Sharma • Edited

I usually prefer GUI for things like database, analytics and dashboards