DEV Community

manojkrishnak
manojkrishnak

Posted on

skybnb sample app - Mongo hackathon 2022

What I built

A sample skybnb app which shows the stay details of a place on input of the place name.

Category Submission:

Search No More: Build an application with full-text search capabilities using MongoDB Atlas and Atlas Search

App Link

https://mongo-search-app.onrender.com/

Screenshots

Image description

Image description

Description

A sample skybnb app which is gives us the listings(stays) available in place we search.

We can get the listings(stays) by giving in a place name and that fetches all the listings in that area. By selecting on each listing we can view the info that listings along with the image of that listings.

Link to Source Code

Frontend - https://github.com/manojkrishnak/mongo-search-fe
Backend - https://github.com/manojkrishnak/mongo-search-be

Permissive License

MIT

Background

(What made you decide to build this particular app? What inspired you?)
I'm interested to try with Mongo Atlas Search feature. I have read through documentation and decided to try building some app which will give us the results on search.

I wanted to have the use case with some good available data. Apparently, MongoDB provides some sample data.

How I built it

(How did you utilize MongoDB Atlas? Did you learn something new along the way? Pick up a new skill?)
I have learnt Mongo Atlas Search while building this app. I had to learn mongo aggregation, building indexes. I had build indexes which will be used by my app when an user selects an place from search results, we would be showing the search results on the selection of place.

Top comments (0)