DEV Community

Marius Muntean
Marius Muntean

Posted on

How I prepared for and passed the AZ-900 exam

I recently passed the Azure Fundamentals exam (AZ-900) and I decided to share my experience in preparing for and taking the exam

My background

I'm a .NET software engineer and I've worked with various Azure services over the last 6 years. The main services that I use at work are App Service for web APIs with ASP.NET Core, Azure Functions, SignalR, IoTHub, CosmosDB, EvenHub and Azure AD B2C.

Motivation

In time I had the impression that I'm using the same few Azure services over and over again. Every other week a new fancy Azure service would be announced, significantly reducing the time and effort to deliver a customer project, but I never got to use them and after a while I would just forget that they exist.
So I decided to take the AZ-900 knowing that it doesn't go all to deep into any particular service, but instead it covers many different services and topics. I thought about it as a big picture exam.

Preparation

The first thing I did was to follow Microsoft's recommended learning path for this exam. Just scroll down on this page and jump in https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/learn/certifications/exams/az-900

I quickly realized that some things bored me because I must have used them 100 times, like creating yet another web API. But in other topics I obviously had gaps in my knowledge, e.g. stuff about data governance and details on SLAs.

This took me around a week. After work, after unwinding for a while, I would sit on my couch with my notebook and try to get as far through the learning path as I could. Often times I realized I could keep going in a zombie-like fashion where I would read the text but not really absorb and internalize the information. Usually that's when I stopped for the day.

Next I proceeded to test my knowledge with free online tests. I cannot recommend enough Adam Marczak's site and YouTube channel (https://marczak.io/az-900/). He has videos and tests on all topics that are covered by the AZ-900.

This was probably enough to pass the exam, but for some reason I felt that a dedicated Whizlabs course was necessary 😁. I used this one https://www.whizlabs.com/microsoft-azure-certification-az-900/
And never regretted it. The videos are on point, the labs are clear and it comes with a ton of practice tests. The practice tests really cemented the information for me. I would do a test, then go over the answers, especially those I got wrong and read up on that topic. πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

Test day

I scheduled my exam with Pearson VUE, on a Saturday. You will have to install a tool from them that checks you computer and makes sure it has the necessary system requirements, like working speakers, microphone and a webcam.
You'll also be reminded that you have to take the exam in a quiet room, alone, with no distractions in sight (whiteboard, monitors or TVs). You should only have your computer and your ID on the table/desk where you take the exam. Phones should not be in arm's reach.

Exam

You should check into your exam half an hour before it is scheduled to start. I had to provide multiple pictures of my room and desk (from 4 angles) and a valid government ID. The system didn't accept the picture of my ID at first. My pulse started to shoot up, but I retook the photo and uploaded it again. It went through.
Immediately after finishing the checkin I was allowed to start the exam, a few minutes before it was scheduled. I was pumped and so I went for it.

The tool that verified my computer is the same tool that you use to take the exam. Actually it is the only application that is allowed to run while you take the exam. It will complain if it detects other running applications. Its UI is like a wizard that shows you some information and you have to confirm that you read and accept it. Sometimes you can go back and other times you cannot.

Right before the actual exam questions show up, your webcam will be turned on and record you. It is an anti cheat measure.

When I got to the actual exam questions a timer showed up and started counting down from 45 minutes. I had 35 questions. They're mostly multiple choice questions. Sometimes you have to drag a box with a label from the left of the screen to the matching concept on the right of the screen. Everything's explained to you in the app.
I found all the questions clear and fair. No surprize there.
What surpized me was that the proctor (that person that watches you through the webcam while you take the exam) suddenly contacted me via chat. That was my first and only notice that I should not take my eyes off the screen, otherwise he'd stop the exam right then and there and I would not be able to retake it.
I was intimidated a bit and didn't have the inclination to ask what triggered that reaction. I can only guess that I was thinking about a question and had that 10000 miles look on my face.

I powered through. You can mark any questions for review. When you're done answering all of them you will be shown every question and your answer. I presume that if I had marked any question for review, that I could still change my answers at this point in the test because there was plenty of time left and the timer was still running.
After "reviewing" all of my answers (they were greyed out for me so I just clicked next, 35 times) I submitted them.
Immediately I was greeted with my score of 865, I had passed 😁 πŸŽ‰

Conclusion

My impression is that the exam was good for me. I got to refresh some terms and concepts that I hadn't had contact with in years and I learned some new things too.
The exam isn't very technical, so anyone hoping to sharpen their skills by preparing for this exam should just keep in mind that this is a Fundamentals exam. Even so, I think it is beneficial for many software engineers.
In hindsight the Whizlabs course would have been enough for me. The site often has discounts and if you use the Honey browser extension you'll be able to get courses at less than half the price πŸ˜‰
Speaking of technical skills, I'm starting to think that the AZ-204 could be the next achievable certification for me.

Good luck!

Top comments (0)