DEV Community

Tipton Technologies
Tipton Technologies

Posted on

Tipton Technologies

Hello everyone! I'm Matt, I'm currently a Senior at Penn State University studying Security and Risk Analysis. My future goals are to find a niche field within information security to peruse my career after university. I still am unsure of what exactly I want to do after I graduate, I'm not sure what particular field of information security I want to enter. Lately I've been going through a lot of self reflection to try and discover what my real passion is that I can do for my career.

I have always had a passion for computers. My love first started with online flash games in the early 2000s. Since then I've been addicted to playing games on the computer. My interested in computer and online security also stemmed from these games. I was pretty young when I was exposed to hackers, they would ruin these games by hacking to give them advantages. I was eventually exposed to these hackers trying to steal my own information. This experience really stemmed my love for protecting others and myself from others that want to cause harm. I hope that I can find myself a career field that speaks to me and gives me that feeling of accomplishment. I don't want to be stuck at a desk looking back wondering what I could have done differently.

I began my formal education in the field my second semester of my first year. I started university as a Biology major and quickly realized that my true passion was with technology. I soon switched to the Security and Risk Analysis major and have loved it ever since. This major did give me many problems and challenges. But have learned so much over the past three and a half years. I have yet to decide on what exact field I'd be interested in joining. I've had two internships that have allowed me to get some knowledge of how the professional sector works. In these internships I managed and implemented information security policy and processes for a small business, this also included policy for managing PHI/HIPPA information. Some of my other tasks included managing security audits for 175 hospital and healthcare systems, distributing IT resources, providing software and security updates. These internships gave me a heads up on some of the responsibilities that I would have in the future and gave me great experience on what to look for while searching for a job.

I've learned many things while studying SRA but one of the things that has helped me with this degree is software and technical tools that assist in getting tasks done. One tools that I have used throughout college is called LightShot. LightShot is a screenshotting tool that allows you to crop and edit your a portion of your screen you want highlighted. This is probably one of my favorites when doing labs and makes it so much easier to annotate your work. I created this short tutorial to help you install and use LightShot for yourselves. Thanks!

Link --- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tFoDiEsSLpI&feature=youtu.be

Top comments (0)