DEV Community

Cover image for My Journey to Be a Good Programmer How It Turned Into machine learning part 1
Muna Mohammed
Muna Mohammed

Posted on • Updated on

My Journey to Be a Good Programmer How It Turned Into machine learning part 1

Everything has started 5 years back when I finished high school and decided to study computer science, by that time I don't know anything about AI except that it is something magical related to Roberts 😅

I have learned python then C++, and java but without understanding what am doing?
sounds bad I know actually the curriculum will teach you the basic and then you should become self tought if want to understand how things going in the ocean of programming and CS is vary large major there a lot of theory, actually it's just theory and theory everywhere 👀
So let us to close that sad part, in my second academic year I decided that I want to be *a good programmer * 💪 so I pick up one language it was C++ and I start by browsing my uncle Google + YouTube
I come up with some books and a lot of YouTube books at that time I want to create my own game ( I am sorry for myself my game never built)

Things become worst 💔

everything going OK with my learning until I realize that I can't write my own code this happened after weeks I spent them on reading and doing some coding after watching videos where is the mistake here? I finished my second year trying to deal with this situation, then few months ago I have read an article about machine learning I really like it because I feel it will be better and I start by learning python
_firstly freecodecamp the spectacular channel _

Image description
4 hours tutorial FULL PYTHON COURSE by the amazing guy Mike Dane it teach my the basics of python
There is a lot of helpful Playlists in this channel like python, machine learning and much more

second comes tech with Tim channel Tim was a guinus guy he covers everything regarding to python and he bulid projects and games and share them through his channel

Image description

then comes MIT's lectures the meaning of crazy, let me to explain this one of the top universities in the world uploads it's lectures free on YouTube as a part of it's open source project

Image description
Here is the website where you find exams, lecture notes, codes and much more 😎
And here the YouTube channel
Okay L will list the courses which I find it useful for me to be honest I didn't watch all of them but nearly in my summar holiday I will spend time on this I will divide the courses into 2 groups one is CS, other is math because machine learning

is all about math

Like me doctor saying.

*CS group *

  • 6.001 fall 2016 Introduction to Computer Science and Programming in Python.

  • 6.002 fall 2016 Introduction to Computational Thinking and Data Science.

  • 6.006 spring 2020 Introduction to Algorithms.

  • 6.046 spring 2015 Design & Analysis of Algorithms.
    *6.034 fall 2010 Artificial Intelligence *
    *Math group *

  • 6.042j spring 2015 Mathematics for Computer Science.

  • 18.01 single variable caluclus

  • 18.02 multivariable caluclus

  • 18.06 spring 2010 Linear Algebra.

  • 18.065 spring 2018 Matrix Methods in Data Analysis, Signal Processing, and Machine Learning.
    Oh God it seems a lot of things there 🥺 but seriously I need to build strong base.
    Now I think this is enough for this part.. There will be another part soon 🙂

Note: This is my first article that I have ever wrote and published, so please feel free to give me your suggestions. 😁

Top comments (0)