DEV Community

Cover image for How to create a Personal Access Token - Azure DevOps
Davide 'CoderDave' Benvegnù
Davide 'CoderDave' Benvegnù

Posted on

How to create a Personal Access Token - Azure DevOps

Today I'm going to show you exactly what to do to create a Personal Access Token in Azure DevOps.

After the article and the video of a couple of weeks ago about the creation of Personal Access Tokens in GitHub, today I have for you a step by step guide on how to create a PAT in Azure DevOps.

Intro

As we have seen in the other article and video I've mentioned before, Personal access tokens (PATs) are an alternative to using passwords for authentication when using APIs or the command line, or if we want to integrate with any 3rd party system.

Let's see how we can create a PAT in Azure DevOps

Video

To see how to create a PAT on your Azure DevOps, and how to properly scope it, I've created a video in which I explain step by step what you need to do.

Here you have it, enjoy the watch!

Link to the video: https://youtu.be/o1rrrVKzc-o

Conclusions

As you have seen, creating a PAT in Azure DevOps is slightly faster than doing it in GitHub, but the process is anyway very similar.

Let me know in the comment section below if you have any question about PATs in Azure DevOps.

Like, share and follow me 🚀 for more content:

📽 YouTube
Buy me a coffee
💖 Patreon
👕 Merch
👦🏻 Facebook page
🐱‍💻 GitHub
👲🏻 Twitter
👴🏻 LinkedIn
🔉 Podcast

Top comments (0)