DEV Community

Cover image for Learning HTML and CSS...
Nokha Debbarma
Nokha Debbarma

Posted on

Learning HTML and CSS...

I began my journey of learning HTML thereafter CSS about a week ago. Today, I am glad to say that I have finished learning the basics of HTML and CSS. Now I'm learning to build a simple basic webpage and form with only HTML & CSS to get my hands dirty. The profile card image that you see on the cover page of this post is built by me. Pretty basic.
Yes, there's a lot to learn more and practice consistently to get really good at it. I'm excited to take up further steps to learn and develop more skills.

But wait, I am confused about whether I should learn Javascript next or should I learn Sass and bootstrap next?

Please, suggest to me what should I learn next.
Thank You.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
horus_sky profile image
Cedric W

Sass and Bootstrap are frameworks that will help you with building/organizing/streamlining your CSS. I would recommend at least familiarizing yourself with both. I would also recommend looking into BEM (Block, Elements, Modifiers) as it will help in organizing your html/css more efficiently.

If you are wanting to get more into programming, understanding data structures, algorithms, animations, and whatnot, JavaScript is a great start.

Free Code Camp (.org) has 2 great certification courses that will introduce you to all of this:

  • JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures Certification
  • Front End Libraries Certification
Collapse
 
nokha_debbarma profile image
Nokha Debbarma

Thanks, Cedric!

I will definitely look into what you have recommended.