DEV Community

L1m1tless
L1m1tless

Posted on

Cha Cha Cha.... Sinatra-Ruby

OHhhhhhh boy!! This is my first Sinatra project and it is a "Dooooooooooooozie!!!" Not only does creating a Web application has a few hic ups of its own but with the added regular life stressors. This project really put me through the ringer! However, I learned a few lessons on this mini journey.

First lesson; being new to a language and its frameworks is one thing but, being new to the industry is another! So the camp that I am in had a break for the holidays. That is no big deal but life has a way of showing itself and it put a funk in my mojo. For the entire break I did not code one time! That made my skills extremely dull and when I tried to get back into the swing of things I had to re-learn a lot of the basic concepts again! With that being said, It is important for me to code something everyday until I feel like I can do most easy to moderate code challenges.

Second lesson that I learned about myself is not to let myself fall to far behind in anything! In this case since I did not code everyday and got dull, I started the re-learning process to late and when I finally started actually tying code it was to late to ask questions that I really needed help with. I missed the multiple office hours where the instructor could have helped me out with a lot. As a result of this I am forced to rush a little bit and figure a lot of stuff out on my own, which is not really a bad thing but concepts that I am using I may not grasp fully or something may break later down the line.

Last lesson I learn is kind of cliché but still very important. Do not count myself out, use any and all resources at your disposal, DO NOT GIVE UP! I had to combine three into one. There was a lot of internal struggle I was going through. I was thinking of just getting rolled back a class and even doubting my abilities! I could not believe myself. I was staring at my ceiling like I cannot sell myself short. I am not going to go out like that. I need to give it everything I can and if I cannot achieve my goal giving 1000% then and only then shall I concede. Plus I already paid my first installment so I wasn't about to let that slide! So when I got out of my little funk. I found out that I was not the only one going through woes during project week and I learned to lean on my cohort! The help motivate me a whole lot! I definitely forgot that my cohort is a useful tool!

So now I am here writing this slapped together blog. This is also part of my project requirements. I have pushed through this wall and will continue to bust through any obstacle in my way. These important lessons I will always take with me.

Top comments (0)