DEV Community

Jeff McHale
Jeff McHale

Posted on

Weekly Round-up #5

#5 PEEPS!

This week has been kind of a blur. I forgot to jot down little notes of the things I accomplished, but I'm going to try my best to remember what all I accomplished this week.

Let's get this party started, shall we?

  • Saturday & Sunday - Worked through, and finished my JavaScript Crash Course by Brad Traversy. I felt it was a well laid out course to get your feet wet with JS, especially if you're new to world of coding. Brad has a great way of explaining things. I recommend giving it a looksy if you're vaguely interested in coding. Good stuff.
  • Monday - I honestly can not remember what I did on Monday. I will work on taking better notes. I'm sorry for the disappointment.
  • Tuesday - I started watching Wes Bos' first video in his JavaScript30 course. Then I got distracted by thinking about side projects. I might start a blog about side projects, if I ever get around to starting any of them. Lol.
  • Wednesday - My wife has asked me to build her an inventory app for her business. This is going to take me WAY outside of my current skill set, and comfort zone. I did some research via the awesome folks on my discord servers and came away feeling confident I could learn enough to make an M.V.P. for her in about 1 month. I will be using MongoDB, node.js, express.js, mongoose, and I'm debating using Bootstrap4 or Bulma CSS for the layout. I did some digging around and found some MongoDB tutorials. I plan to sart those on Thursday.
  • Thursday - I started one of the MongoDB tutorials that I had found on Wednesday. MongoDB in 30 Minutes by Brad Traversy has been pretty good so far. He doesn't go too deep. Brad keeps everything in the command line for this tutorial. It's designed to ease you into MongoDB. Brad has so many great FREE courses on his youtube channel, Traversy Media.
  • Friday - So, here we are, the Friday of the 5th entry of my Weekly Round-up series. Today I finished up the MongoDB in 30 Minutes tutorial. I also made it back home from my 12ish days in NY for some military stuffs. Tomorrow I get to see my wife and kids in person, instead of via video calls on FB messenger. I can't wait!!!!

This Weekly Round-up series has been a really awesome way for me to share my journey with the world. Even though that world is quite small right now. Lol. I'm excited to see what the journey is going to continue to become. Thank you to the ones that have been following me as I've started this journey. And a big thank you to those that have been there to help me when I hit some speed bumps along the way.

If anyone has any feedback on how I could make these posts better, in any way, please comment below or find me on twitter at @jeff_mchale1.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read about my coding journey.

-Jeff

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
devluc profile image
Devluc

Your progress is amazing, keep it up