DEV Community

Arpad K.
Arpad K.

Posted on

IBM! What the actual fuck?

Maybe this post will be deleted.

I am an (ex)employee of IBM, in the role of Senior Web Developer. My salary could been translated to $2000 USD net.

On Wednesday I was on holiday and received a message from my manager on Apple iMessage about why am I not in the office, signing a paper about a recurring report obligation in written form about my side project, business objectives and activities, GreenEyes.AI. I was previously informed and it has been stated, that my side project, for the purpose of obtaining an MSc degree, has not imposed any conflict of interest towards IBM. However turned out they spent around $300k USD on my case, involving 6 american and 2 hungarian lawyers and an AI expert, just to state the previous.

Why the rush, why the enforcement to align with some schedule of the business I don’t even understand.

I lost the right to present my work at a university science fair (https://bit.ly/greeneyesai-replatforming) and use it as a subject of my thesis, — , the financial foundations to even study at the university (MSc in Business IT, in English), and the financial foundation to live in Budapest. My side project, Art Scape, which is about showcasing the Budapest Art Scene and Cultural Heritage in danger of being pulled down from the stores due to a prospected lawsuit. I have been informed, that the hungarian tech-scene already aware of me, putting me into a situation that I have to leave the country.

I am not accusing IBM anything, but surely their leadership has some nutts in their heads, pulling me over this.

Will see.

PS: If you see me hoboing around Budapest this winter, toss me a coin. Thx.

Original here: https://medium.com/@arpi/ibm-what-the-actual-fuck-637a5a5daf5c

Top comments (0)