DEV Community

Radharadhya Dasa
Radharadhya Dasa

Posted on

Taming the Mega-Component: My Vue.js Refactoring Adventure

We’ve all been there: opening a codebase only to find a massive component, packed with hundreds of lines of code, where bugs seem to hide in every corner. Recently, I found myself staring down this exact challenge in a Vue.js project. A bug report had led me to this hulking component, and it became obvious—this beast needed taming.

Image description

As it happens, I was the one who originally wrote this monstrosity, so there was no one to blame but myself.

Although tools like the Vue mess detector provided some insights, the first step was a simple one: breaking the component into smaller, more manageable pieces. In this post, I’ll walk you through how I conquered this enormous component, and how the end result was a codebase that’s cleaner, more maintainable, and far easier to test.

Step 1: Divide and Conquer

The first task was to break the component into smaller, logical parts. I started by examining the template to identify distinct functionalities. I quickly found a few key candidates for extraction: a menu, a search form, a list display, and three tables that were nearly identical. These distinct elements would become separate, dedicated components.

Step 2: Slicing Up the Script

Once the template was divided, the next step was to do the same with the script. I extracted the logic related to each piece of the template and moved it into its own component file. This not only made the code easier to read but also set the stage for independent testing.

During this process, I noticed some utility functions and a new composable that needed to be extracted. This refactoring pushed me to create reusable logic, which further enhanced the modularity and maintainability of the code.

Step 3: Establishing Communication

The next hurdle was to figure out how these new components would talk to each other. I had to carefully identify the props each sub-component needed and decide which actions should stay internal and which should be communicated back to the parent component. This balance helped keep each sub-component focused on its responsibilities while still ensuring smooth communication with the parent.

Step 4: Syncing the Styles

The refactor didn’t stop at logic; the styles had to be split as well. I moved the CSS previously bundled in the mega-component into the appropriate sub-components. This kept the styles close to the elements they were affecting, ensuring that everything stayed organized and localized.

Step 5: Testing the Pieces

Ensuring that everything still worked after the refactor was essential. As I pulled each sub-component out, I immediately wrote component tests and unit tests to verify that it behaved as expected. This "test-as-you-go" method gave me confidence that the refactoring wasn’t introducing new bugs.

Step 6: Rinse and Repeat

Once I found a rhythm, the process became almost mechanical—identify a section in the template, extract the script and logic, set up communication channels, move the styles, and write tests. With each iteration, the once-monolithic component transformed into a well-organized system of smaller, more manageable pieces.

Additional Thoughts

In some cases, you might start by grouping similar elements into a single component. However, if differences between them start to complicate the logic, it might be worth splitting them further. For example, in my case, I initially created a single component for the three similar tables. But eventually, I realized that the slight differences (like one table having four columns while the others had five) justified splitting them into separate components to keep things clean and focused.

The Results

The refactor was a success. What was once an overwhelming, bug-prone component was now a collection of well-defined, well-tested sub-components. The original component was reduced to less than 400 lines, and I created six new sub-components, one composable, and one utility. The total lines of code is only a 100 lines smaller, but the clarity, maintainability, and testability improved dramatically.

This experience reminded me of the importance of breaking down complex structures into smaller, more digestible pieces. Not only does this make the code easier to maintain, but it also sets the stage for better testing and future development.

So, if you ever find yourself facing a Vue.js component that seems to have ballooned out of control, remember that with a thoughtful approach and some strategic refactoring, you can transform that monster into a clean, well-structured part of your application—one that’s a pleasure to work with.

Top comments (0)