DEV Community

Abubakar Sadiq Sirajo
Abubakar Sadiq Sirajo

Posted on

What was your first language as a Software developer

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Well, I started learning shell at one point, but pretty soon realized I'm not really cut out to be a dev, haha. Who knows, maybe I'll come back to it one of these days through a different lens!

Side note: I realize navigating via shell commands isn't really coding. 😅

I think maybe something I've done that is a bit closer to coding is editing SQL code that was used in a Blazer query. I wouldn't have been able to write the code on my own, but I can read it well enough to edit and adapt it.

Collapse
 
vlajd profile image
Vlajd • Edited

My first language I've learned was JS on Khan-Academy... I was about, maybe, 8 or 9 years old, maybe even 10.

Still, the first actual software that I've written was in C++ (if we exclude unity engine games(C#))

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Probably Java.

Collapse
 
pinich profile image
Pini Cheyni

C then JS

Collapse
 
camco profile image
Camco

HTML (PHP for server side)

Collapse
 
shyamjyothi profile image
shyamjyothi

C#